Simon Pearce’s Shepherd’s Pie

A while back I told you about Simon Pearce, one of my favorite places to visit when in Vermont and since my parent’s were there last weekend and continue to rave about their Shepherd’s Pie (which is also one of my favorite things on the menu), I thought I’d share the recipe as it’s perfect for eating while snuggling up and watching movies on a rainy day!

simon_pearce_shepards_pie

Simon Pearce’s Shepherd’s Pie

1 lb ground lamb
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium sized red onion
1 teaspoon Raz el Hanout
1 cup beef gravy
1 1/2 cups corn kernels
1 1/2 cups frozen sweet peas, thawed
1 1/2 cups carrots, cubed small and blanched
3 cups mashed sweet potatoes
3 Tablespoons butter, cubed

Saute onions in hot olive oil. Add Raz el hanout once the onions are wilted. Add ground lamb and saute until meat is thoroughly cooked. Stir in beef gravy.

In the bottom of a medium-sized baking dish spread the lamb mixture. Layer on top of the lamb the corn kernels then the sweet peas and the finally the blanched cubed carrots. Sprinkle the vegetable layers with salt and pepper.

Cover the layers with the mashed sweet potatoes and dot the top with butter. Bake at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes or until you see bubbling on the edges.

Makes 6 servings.

Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Outside DC, Recipes, Restaurants

6 responses to “Simon Pearce’s Shepherd’s Pie

  1. Gorgeous – both the recipe and the photo!

    • Al Curri

      I’m not a Shepards Pie fan, but I love the Cheddar Soup. There is supposedly a recipe on line. Do you have any info. about this. RSVP

  2. WHOA! how did you get that mashed potato topping look so brown and…well… tall!? it’s gorgeous.

  3. I would love to have you share this wonderful recipe with my readers:

    http://www.best-potato-recipes.com/share-a-favorite-recipe.html

    All my best
    Judith

  4. Pingback: FoodieView Blog » Recipe Roundup: A St. Patrick’s Day Feast

Leave a comment