Whisked to Wonderfulness!

A couple of nights ago, while watching the Olympics, my darling husband asked if I’d pretty please make him a little dessert with chocolate.  So, I undertook the task of making my first chocolate souffle!  I’ll tell you what, the recipe is not for the faint of heart, but it’s not too too challenging either.  If you can understand the different stages of whipped egg whites, you’ll be fine.  Give it a go – it’s a delicious light and supple treat!

Super Simple Chocolate Souffle
(well, as simple as souffle gets)

butter for greasing baking dish and parchment
1/4 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar
4 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1 cup whole milk
3 large egg yolks
1/4 cup flour
5 large egg whites
pinch of cream of tartar
confectioners sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter dish well, and coat with superfine sugar. Cut a collar out of parchment paper to extend 3 inches above the rim of dish. Tie collar around outside of dish with kitchen string; using a pastry brush, butter the inside. Chill.

Chop chocolate, and place in a dry, heatproof bowl. Place over a pot of barely simmering water, and let stand until melted. Stir until smooth; keep warm.

Scald milk in a medium saucepan.

In a large bowl, beat yolks and 2 tablespoons sugar until pale and fluffy, using an electric mixer. Beat in flour until well combined. With mixer running, slowly add half of the hot milk.

Add mixture to saucepan with remaining milk. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring constantly. Simmer for 2 to 3 minutes more; whisk in melted chocolate. Transfer to a large bowl, and cover with plastic wrap, pressing it onto the surface. Keep warm until ready to use.

In a large bowl, beat egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks form. Gradually add remaining 1/4 cup sugar. Beat until stiff and glossy.

Spoon 1/4 of the whites into chocolate base, and whisk thoroughly until smooth. Quickly fold remaining whites into mixture until combined. (Don’t worry if some streaks remain.) Transfer to prepared dish. Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. Reduce heat to 375 degrees and bake 15 minutes more. Remove collar, dust with confectioners’ sugar, if desired, and serve immediately.

Enjoy!

23 Comments

Filed under baking, dessert, Food, How To, Recipes

23 responses to “Whisked to Wonderfulness!

  1. I’m like really hungry now lol thanks for the recipe🙂

  2. Congratulations! I just love souffles! particularly chocolate!! Hope your husband rewarded you!!

  3. mat

    I was thinking of making this when I first saw the post – but it looks like I’d end up with a mess on my hands! you don’t fancy sending me one in the post do you🙂

  4. I love souffles but have always been a little intimidated by them. Thanks for posting a simple recipe. Will have to try this one. – Meredith

  5. m

    Oh my, that looks so delicious! I’ve never tried to make souffle–it seems so hard, and I’m a terrible baker! But this makes me want to try. :]

  6. So pretty! I have to admit, I’ve never attempted a souffle, out of pure fear.😉 I know I should just try it though. I’m printing this recipe out.😀

  7. mmm OMG this sounds sooooooo good! I’ve been wanting to try making a souffle and have been looking for a good recipe, thank you so much for this.🙂

  8. ivorypomegranate

    I have to agree, souffles are a bit intimidating, but you make it look so easy!

  9. Me likey this! I shall give it the recipe a try, thanks for sharing!🙂

  10. wow.. it really sounds so yummy!!!

  11. V

    can you tell me what kind of dish and how many do you need for this recipe?

  12. Tasha

    that looks sooooo goood!!!! and I bet it tastes just as good as it looks🙂

    http://imnotfancy.wordpress.com

    cheers,

    Tasha

  13. Well done! That looks so pretty. When I was in culinary school souffles were my nemesis. My chef told me I had to make them my bitch, and, well, my bitch they became. I even made a lemon one for my plated dessert test and I received all possible points! Souffles really are easier than they appear. Thanks for the great blog post and the pretty picture.

  14. like to have of some those cookies good recipe.

  15. This looks wonderful! Much better than a boxed brownie mix by far.🙂

  16. Hi – I came across your blog when logging into my own. This souffle looks delicious! I love to cook but could use some help when it comes to baking! Thanks for sharing what looks like great recipe.🙂

  17. Tiramisue

    Ooh that looks amazing! Can I ask where you found the recipe for it? Big dessert fan and collector of cookbooks.

  18. Hello,

    I enjoyed reading your post “Whisked to Wonderfulness!,” the picture of the chocolate souffle made me hungry immedately and I like how you offered a receipe in how to make it as well. I will be conducting an interview with the founder of Golden Southern Cuisine at 7:00 pm this evening . Golden Southern Cuisine is a new catering service that is located in Raleigh, NC that specializes in southern home cooked meals with a northern flavor. I will let her know about your receipe, thanks. The interview will posted within the following week, so check it out.

    R. A. Bryant, Administrator & Founder of Smart Commerce

  19. I based the recipe on one from Martha Stewart’s Old Classics book. Best of luck – just remember not to over whisk🙂

  20. Wonderful post, I like your impressive blog, found you on FP.

    Please visit my interesting training blog.

Leave a Reply

