Peanut Butter Brownie Cups

For a while now, I’ve been wanting to use muffin pans to make brownies. I found several recipes, but none I could really get excited about. Then, I found one from Nestle that features one of my favorite combinations: chocolate and peanut butter.  I slightly modified their recipe to get to the decadent treat below.

chocolate

Peanut Butter Brownie Cups

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 tablespoon water
3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 large egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup peanut butter chips plus about 1/3 cup more for garnishing
1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips plus about 1/3 cup more for garnishing
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

Preheat oven to 350°. Spray or grease 12 muffin cups.

In a large microwave-safe bowl, combine sugar, butter, and water. Microwave on high for 1 minute or until butter is melted. Stir in 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips until melted. Stir in egg and vanilla extract. Add flour and baking soda, stirring until blended. Allow to cool to room temperature. Then, stir in 1/2 cup each peanut butter chips and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Spoon batter by heaping tablespoonfuls into muffin cups.

Bake for 13-15 minutes or until top is set and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out slightly wet. Place pan on wire rack. Centers of brownies will fall upon cooling. If not, tap centers with the back of a teaspoon to make a hole.

Place peanut butter in a small microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for 45 seconds, then stir. While brownies are still hot, spoon about a tablespoon of peanut butter into the center of each brownie. Top with semi-sweet chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. Cool completely in pan.

6 Comments

Filed under baking, dessert, Food, Recipes

6 responses to “Peanut Butter Brownie Cups

  1. Yes, I am drooling as a matter of fact. Brownies in a muffin tin? Genius! I know what I’m making this weekend!

  2. OMG! Yes, I just typed that. Drooling all over the keyboard. On the list to make shortly….

  3. Pingback: Weekly Roundup: Parental Control Edition « ModernDomestic

  4. Jessah

    Made these this week for an office party. OMG, better than I could have imagined! I needed lots of brownie cups for the party, so I used a mini muffin tin (baked for around 11 minutes instead of 13-15).

    I heated them in the microwave for a minute before taking them to the party, where 30 of these bad boys were devoured in under 10 minutes. Huge success – and now a part of my monthly (perhaps weekly?) repertoire. Thanks for the delicious recipe, and for making me look like a rock star at work!

  5. Oh yum! I made these last night after seeing the recipe on CC’s blog (sunshine lovin’)…they turned out great.

Leave a Reply

