How to: Cook Lobster

I know, it’s the moment you’ve been waiting for…  We’ll maybe you haven’t been waiting for it, but I’ve been excited to finally get some pictures up from our “vacation” in Maine.  We spent a good deal of time searching out, learning about and cooking LOBSTER!

So, today’s pictures illustrate a “how to” on preparing one of my favorite meals.

lobsterpotlobsterpotlobsterpotIt’s really almost that easy!  Here are my additional tips for success everytime.

  • Make sure your water is really really boiling before you put in the lobsters.
  • Don’t overcrowd the pot.  This was a HUGE pot and I only put 4 lobsters in for each batch.  The meat will get overcooked and rubbery if cooked for too long, which is easy to do when the water doesn’t stay hot enough due to too many lobsters in the pot… make sense?
  • Keep the lid on the pot when cooking the lobsters… actually, keep it on at all times… other than when removing the lobster, so the water stays as hot as possible.
  • I say 6 minutes because in my experience (that makes it sound like I have 30 years of experience, which I don’t, but I still feel very confident in that number) that’s the perfect amount of time to get the lobster cooked, without making it a rubbery mess.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, How To, Outside DC

Leave a Reply

