Giant Strawberry Shortcake

strawberry_shortcakeFor the Fourth of July this past weekend and my sister’s suprise engagement I whipped up this giant strawberry shortcake (big enough for 30 people) with a little help from Bisquick.  Generally I don’t cheat and use baking mixes or the like when preparing food, but since it was the holiday weekend, I was in someone else’s kitchen and it was for so many people I did it… I used Bisquick and I’ve got to tell you – It was delicious!

I used two 12 inch cake pans to make this monsterous dessert.  Here’s the recipe.

Giant Strawberry Shortcake (cheating with Bisquick)

14 cups Bisquick mix
3 cups milk
36 tbsp sugar
36 tbsp butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Mix all ingredients in a large (and I mean large) mixing bowl just until combined.

Grease cake pans with non-stick spray.  Divide the dough in half and press into each of the pans.  Bake until the tops are slightly browned, switching the racks the cake pans are on about 10 minutes into baking.

Serve with homemade whipped cream and freshly macerated strawberries.

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under baking, dessert, Food, holiday, Recipes

2 responses to “Giant Strawberry Shortcake

  1. What a great idea of a summer party dessert. Nice photo!

  2. You’re motivating me so much I have to leave now, just like when I read, “I told my psychiatrist that everyone hates me. He said I was being ridiculous – everyone hasn’t met me yet..”.

Leave a Reply

