Tip of the Day: Selecting Papayas

Papaya is one of my favorite fruits – just cut in half, scoop out the seeds and give it a little squirt of lime and dig in!  I realized after sending my husband to the grocery store to pick up things for the weekend that he had no idea how to tell when a papaya is ripe.  After explaining to him, I thought I’d share my tips for picking the perfect papaya (all while sharing a photo from my new camera)

papaya

For starters, look for papayas that are partly or completely yellow in color.

Depending on variety, they should give slightly to pressure, but not be soft at the stem-end.

Avoid papayas that are bruised, shriveled, or have soft areas.

Papayas that are hard and green are immature and will not ripen properly.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Healthy, Tip of the Day

One response to “Tip of the Day: Selecting Papayas

  1. Thanks much, you have put a smile on my face. Now why don’t you add a bit more fact to the story?

Leave a Reply

