Get ’em while they’re hot!

Pancakes are out.  Hotcakes are in at my house.  I whipped up my first batch of them after reading Gourmet’s review of The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham and I haven’t been able to make pancakes since.  While they look so much alike while stacked on a plate, the texture between a hotcake and a pancake couldn’t be more different!  The sour cream in this version makes them so light, fluffy and full of flavor!hotcakes

Bridge Creek Heavenly Hots
4 eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup cake flour
2 cups sour cream
3 tablespoons sugar
Keep reading for the rest of the recipe and a bunch of pictures of the process!

Put the eggs in a mixing bowl and stir until well blended. Add the salt, baking soda, flour, sour cream, and sugar, and mix well. All of this can be done in a blender, if you prefer.

Heat a griddle or frying pan until it is good and hot, film with grease, and drop small spoonfuls of batter onto the griddle—just enough to spread to an approximately 2 1/2-inch round. When a few bubbles appear on top of the pancakes, turn them over and cook briefly.

hotcakesbatter

hotcakeswait

hotcakes2

2 Comments

Filed under baking, breakfast, Food, Recipes

2 responses to “Get ’em while they’re hot!

  1. okay. I know what I’m making in the morning. Seriously, looks so good. I thought I had the best pancake recipe. It also uses sour cream which was the secret ingredient, but it’s only a couple of tablespoons. They are really great, but I have a feeling I might convert to this recipe. I’m amazed at how little of flour it uses as well. Great pictures!

  2. These look really unique with the cake flour and sour cream. I usually make a buttermilk based batter, but I will try this next time.

Leave a Reply

