Truffled Parmigiano Popcorn!

truffle-parm-popcorn

When I’ve had a rough day, it’s all I need to pull myself together (well, actually add a good glass of wine and then I’m set)!

I was first introduced to Truffled Parmesan Popcorn while doing a stink of work and living out of The Island Hotel in Newport Beach, CA a couple of years ago and since then, I maintain a stock of truffle butter and truffle oil for just this purpose!

I know it probably sounds a little weird, but don’t be a hater until you try it.  The best way to prepare it is to make the popcorn on the stove (preferably in a Whirley-Pop), while at the same time melting a little truffle butter in a seperate saucepan.  Once the popcorn is popped, quickly grate Parmigiano Reggiano over the top, tossing gently to mix thoroughly through the popcorn.  Then drizzle with the truffle butter and season to taste with good salt.  At The Island, they grated some black truffle over the top, but for $$$-sake, I don’t keep truffles in the pantry.  So, give it a try and let me know what you think – you might just become addicted!

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Snack

3 responses to “Truffled Parmigiano Popcorn!

  1. bridget

    Love from Vegas for the Whirley-Pop!

  2. I was just at the Napastyle store in Los Gatos and picked up some truffle salt. Now I’ve got another use for it – thanks!

Leave a Reply

