Another Go at No-Knead Bread

I don’t know about you, but I’m hooked on Jim Lahey’s no-knead bread that Mark Bittman wrote about in The NY Times about two years ago.  It makes a weekly appearance on our dinner table as I thought it couldn’t be easier to make a homemade loaf of bread for dinner.  Well, Bittman has gone and made it easier!  This week, he published his revised recipe along with a recipe for whole wheat no-knead bread!  Lahey has yet to share a recipe for revising the recipe to include whole wheat flour, but we can be sure when he does weigh in that the result will be delicious.

Yesterday I whipped up a loaf of the whole wheat version and made it into sandwiches for dinner.  The results were good, not great, but good.  As far as simplicity goes, I really don’t think it could possibly get any easier than this – just quickly stir together all the ingredients in a bowl and leave it to sit on the counter for four hours.  Then dump into a loaf pan and let sit one more hour… Then bake for 45 minutes.  No messy kneading needed.

I wasn’t thrilled with the flavor or the chewiness of the dough.  I think adding a little honey (maybe 2 tbsp in place of 2 tbsp of water) would enhance the flavor and as for the chewiness, I’m not sure how to fix that.  I think I would also really like it if I added some oatmeal to the flour.

Have you tried it yet?  What are your thoughts?

2 Comments

Filed under baking, Food, Healthy, News, Outside DC, Recipes

2 responses to “Another Go at No-Knead Bread

  1. I’m intrigued by this, but don’t believe the hype. I want my bread to taste like the bread I buy at the Dupont Circle Farmer’s Market. I’m assuming I need to put is some sweat, if it will be that good.

  2. myinvestorsplace

    Thanks for the bread recipe… always looking for new and unique ideas for baking bread

    andy
    http://www.recipebuddys.com

Leave a Reply

