The District Domestic goes to Portland, OR

Posting will be light for the next couple of days as I head to Portland, OR for a long weekend of culinary indulgence, which hopefully, I can offset with some hiking in the Columbia River Gorge.

I can’t wait to share photos and stories from the trip… Until then, here’s some great links for an adventure surrounded by food in the Pacific Northwest!

For a smorgasbord of information on dining out visit Portland Food & Drink.com.  From reviews to menus to forums, they’ve got it all and with plenty of user comments verifying or denying each post.

Food Carts Portland is just what it sounds like… A blog dedicated to finding and reviewing all the food carts/trucks/stands in the Portland area.

Many say it’s one of the best in the world… Portland Farmer’s Market

Not much you can do about it, but you can’t plan a trip to Portland without checking it 1,000 times… Just try… Weather.com

Serious Eats has a great guide to eating your way through Portland, as does Food and Wine with their guide to 48 hours in Portland.

Any recommendations on places not to be missed?  First dinner on my list is Clyde Common.

2 Comments

Filed under Food, Outside DC, Restaurants, travel

2 responses to “The District Domestic goes to Portland, OR

  1. foodietots

    I loved Andina on my visit last year, and this time we had some amazing pie at a coffee shop in N. Portland, Random Order. Oh, and I highly recommend the tamales at the farmers market. Enjoy your trip!

  2. Rachel

    Hi, I’m a lurker– a food-obsessed DC native who just moved back after living in SE Portland for 4 years, so now I have to come forward. I urge you to try The Farm on SE 7th (http://www.thefarmcafe.net/). I also love Bread & Ink, on Hawthorne, and Lauro, on Division. I always wanted to try fancy new Sel Gris on Hawthorne but (as a student) never had the budget.

    But if you get to nothing else in Portland, you MUST MUST try Pix (http://www.pixpatisserie.com/) on SE Division. Their Fleur De Sel truffle is- and I do not say this at all lightly- the greatest thing I have ever tasted. And everything else they’ve got is wonderful too, particularly the Amelie and the chocolate rosemary pear tart. And the Citron tart. And the macarons. And the Framboise Lambic float. And… everything else!

Leave a Reply

