Christmas Lima Beans & Quinoa Salad…

with avocado, beets and lemon honey dressing!

Last week I did a recipe testing of this for The Washington Post and I’ve been dying to post the pictures of the process, but had to wait until the article came out today!  When I picked up the beans I was so excited as they are like no bean I’ve ever seen before! When dry they were a little more charcoal in color than the red that comes through in this photo, which I took when they were wet AND they are BIG!  We’re talking after soaking and cooking, they are about 1 – 1.25″ in length.  Now that’s a serious legume!

The process of cooking dried beans starts with giving them a good wash and then soaking them for several hours…

Then comes the cooking, which took almost as long as the soaking.  All the hard work (and by hard work, I mean a bowl or pot sitting with beans in your kitchen for several hours) is worth it!  This recipe was delicious!  For the recipe, click here.  I definitely recommend doubling the dressing as the beans can be a little heady and the acid/sweetness in the dressing nicely counters those flavors.  I also added extra avocado as I love the stuff!

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Healthy, How To, News, Recipes, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Christmas Lima Beans & Quinoa Salad…

  1. These beans are so pretty, it’s ridiculous!!!

  2. 1- I agree.

    I’d try that, but……I don’t like beans very much. I’ll pass.

  3. After study a handful of the blogs in your website now, and i really much like your means of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and you will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site likewise and inform me what you believe.

  4. Pingback: Double Beans Curry | High Protein Bean Curry - My Tasty Curry

Leave a Reply

