Squash as Noodles?

You bet! This is a delicious way to prepare summer’s most abundant vegetable… ZUCCHINI! I don’t know about you, but when planting my little seedlings in the Spring, I always seem to forget just how much one zucchini plant will yield and August brings weeks of just trying to give the stuff away!

Zucchini Noodles

A couple of zucchini from the garden
1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp lemon zest
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Bring a large pot of well-salted water to a boil.

In the meantime, use a mandoline (or if you have mad knife skills, by hand) julienne the zucchini into matchstick-sized strips.

When water has reached a rolling boil, add zucchini noodles and let cook for 2-3 minutes or until just tender.  Remove from water and immediately toss with butter, lemon zest and Parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Healthy, Recipes, Uncategorized, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Squash as Noodles?

  1. vigilant20

    I’ve been meaning to try this. I’m doing some raw foods and zucchini “spaghetti” is pretty popular. They also have julienne peelers for $8 or so that make it pretty easy🙂

  2. Whitney

    I also love to use zucchini and summer squash to make lasagna “noodles” (i.e. I slice them lengthwise into thin “sheets”). The ricotta & marinara have so much flavor that I don’t really notice that I’m eating vegetables instead of pasta!

  3. Dianne

    Sarah – when are you bringing that beautiful pup out to the country for a play date??????

  4. Yeah, I’ve heard how zuchinni can suddenly erupt in fruit. But I don’t have a zuchinni plant, so I’m safe.

Leave a Reply

