Beets, Glorious Beets

are abundant in my garden at the moment. I love when they start to poke out of the soil – it’s a great indicator that they are ready to be eaten! Stay tuned later this week for a tutorial on how to pickle beets.

In the mean time, here is a little beet “salad” that I made for lunch yesterday.

Beet Napolean

I roasted the beets and then sliced them to about 1/2″ thickness. I then layered them with truffled goat cheese (goat cheese mixed with a tablespoon of truffle oil). Over the top I drizzled a hand-cut pesto of basil and pistachios. I threw in a couple of tomatoes as they were getting too ripe in the sun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Gardening, Recipes

Leave a Reply

