Elderflower Fritters

As a child, not a summer would go by that my sister and I didn’t let my mom know that the elderberry flowers were in blossom. Now you may be thinking it’s crazy to use the blossoms at the expense of not getting the berries, but just try making these once and you’ll understand! This recipe was my mom’s grandmother’s.

The secret is to have the batter ready, go out and pick the flowers and then fry them up right away – the flowers wilt quickly. While home last weekend, we were in luck – it was elderflower season, and yet again, we convinced my mom to make them!

Elderflower Fritters

elderflower clusters
1 cup flour
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
vegetable or canola oil for frying

Before picking flowers, prepare batter by combining flour, sugar, baking powder, eggs, and milk in a medium-sized mixing bowl.

Pour oil into frying apparatus.

Run outside and pick flowers. Upon returning inside, turn oil on to heat. Gently dust the flowers, making sure there are no little bugs in the flowers. Some people recommend gently washing the flowers, but that removes all of the pollen, which really adds to the flavor of the fritters.

Once oil is hot (about 375F) drip flowers into batter and place into oil with stem sticking up.

Once lightly golden brown around the edges, use kitchen shears to trim stem, then flip. After about another 30 seconds, remove from oil and place on a paper towel lined plate. Immediately sprinkle generously with powdered sugar. Eat while hot.

Enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under breakfast, dessert, Food, Recipes

6 responses to “Elderflower Fritters

  1. Absolutely beautiful! I wish I could taste one as I have never had anything like it in my life!

  2. Pleasantly Polite

    Will you make me some? They sound yummy!

  3. Wow.. I have never heard of these. They look and sound great though.

  4. totally never would have though to make fritters!

  5. How lovely, and what a great family tradition. I’ve seen recipes for this in old cookbooks but never made them, due to limited access to elderberry bushes.

  6. Great post, just returned from Bavaria. I had them on a market in Munich. Forgot to take my camera. I will be making some today or tomorrow before the season is out.

Leave a Reply

