From the Garden: String Beans

String beans (of the green, yellow and purple varieties) are most delicious when devoured less than an hour after being picked – these are the first picking from my garden. Nona, my great-aunt, always made them best. Here’s her “recipe”

Nona’s Green Beans

1ish pounds of green beans
1 tbsp butter
1/2 cup sour cream
sea salt

Gently steam the green beans for just a couple of minutes in a medium-sized saute pan with just a couple tablespoons of water. Strain out the water and while hot, add the butter, salt and sour cream. Stir until everything has fondued together.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Gardening, Healthy, Recipes, Vegetarian

4 responses to “From the Garden: String Beans

  1. Wow, I never would have thought to add sour creme to string beans but I think I’ll try that. I love to garden, mine is wild and often a surprise but it’s a blast to grow things and then be able to eat them.
    Wc

  2. Fondue cannot be used as a verb.

    Save sea salt for something you can taste it’s difference in.

    Why use sour cream (and so much of it) on something that “are most delicious when devoured less than an hour after being picked ?”

  3. Yes, in culinary terms on my blog I can use fondued in any way I like.

    You can taste the difference with sea salt and I use it in most of my cooking.

    Because sour cream is delicious. That’s why!

  4. I never have enough string beans at one time to make something like this. What’s your secret?

Leave a Reply

