Weeds, Glorious Weeds…

were over-abundant when I arrived at my community garden plot on Newark Street this afternoon. And just to be clear, in my opinion, there is nothing glorious about the weeds – other than MAYBE the calories burned in pulling them.

This is what it looked like when we arrived

gardenarrive.jpg

That’s Mr. District Domestic (he desperately wishes I wouldn’t call him this) helping…

And here are my little rows of seeds… I got in some beets, sugar snap peas and broccoli rabe. I hope to get back over there tomorrow to continue getting rid of the rest of the weeds. I was delighted to find that all six of the peony plants that I put in as bareroots last Spring are about a foot tall!

gardenplanted.jpg

Stay tuned later today for some tips on what needs to be done in your garden now.

2 Comments

Filed under Gardening

2 responses to “Weeds, Glorious Weeds…

  1. kathleen

    Where on Newark Street is this garden?

Leave a Reply

