Ricotta-Stuffed Squash Blossoms

These are one of my favorite summer snacks. There was an abundance of squash blossoms in the markets this week as the growing season has come to and end and the farmers are pulling out the plants.

I love to simply stuff them with a homemade ricotta mixture.

Ricotta-Stuffed Squash Blossoms
makes 12

12 fresh squash blossoms, gently dusted to remove any dirt
12 oz homemade ricotta
3 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
2 tbsp honey
1 tbsp fresh thyme
sea salt
1 cup light beer
1 cup flour
1 tsp salt
olive oil for frying

Combine ricotta, pine nuts, honey and thyme. Stir until combined. Salt to taste.
Using a pastry bag, carefully fill flowers with mixture.

In a medium bowl, mix beer, flour and salt until incorporated.
In the mean time, heat the oil.

When oil is hot, carefully dip blossoms in tempura mixture and immediately place blossom in oil. Fry until golden in color.

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

4 responses to “Ricotta-Stuffed Squash Blossoms

  1. Pingback: In Season: Squash Blossoms

  2. Pingback: Oyamel is at it again! « The District Domestic

  3. mari

    I love zucchini flowers! I normally stuff and pan fry rather than deep fry (my kitchen doesn’t have a decent fan…), but this does look good. Next time I visit my friend who has a deep fryer, I’ll bring my squash blossoms and try your recipe. I’ve grown summer squash for a while, and they keep giving me lots of flowers. Much cheaper than buying at the farmers market.
    For tips on how to keep them fresher longer: http://kitchenwizard.wordpress.com/?s=zucchini+flowers&x=12&y=9

  4. Pingback: The Passion Fruits » They’re Here!

Leave a Reply

