Tip of the Day: Perfectly Popped Popcorn

Making popcorn from “scratch” is so easy, it amazing to me that someone thought it necessary to make a microwaveable version (full of processed crap).  Especially, because it can be a healthy, high fiber snack, if you don’t add too much butter.

Here’s my “recipe” for a perfectly popped batch…

Heat about 2-3 tbsp of oil (sometimes I use corn oil, and sometimes I splurge with truffle oil) in a large pot with a tight fitting lid.  Heat over high heat until very hot.  Add 1 cup of popcorn, cover and shake vigorously across the burner.  Leave the heat on high until the popcorn begins to pop, which usually takes about 30 seconds.  As the kernals pop, continue to shake vigorously – this helps prevent popped corn from burning and keeps the unpopped corn on the bottom of the pan.  Keep shaking until the popping subsides, usually about 2 minutes.  Remove from heat, dump into a bowl and salt.  Toss with butter or parmesan or truffle oil, if desired…

Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, Snack

5 responses to “Tip of the Day: Perfectly Popped Popcorn

  1. I love making popcorn from scratch. I use Alton Brown’s method of cooking the popcorn in a metal mixing bowl with aluminum foil for a cover. The round bowl keeps the popped kernels from burning as they rise up the sides. Popcorn from scratch is so good, it doesn’t even need butter.

  2. Maggie

    I use a hot air popper. It wastes very few kernels and is super quick.

  3. mysweetestday

    i always used a stovetop popcorn maker but now that im away at college and without it, i didn’t think i could make it from scratch. thanks so much for the tip!

  4. I am going to make this in my creative writing class! Procedural writing ;)

  5. Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

