The Gooseberries taste like… Gooseberries!

Fruity and floral, the scent of gooseberries simmering is one of the quintessential aromas of summer and they aren’t around for long, so if you see them at the market this week, snag them up!

So what are these silly little slightly furry berries and what can be made of them? Well, for starters, there are two periods during their growing season that the are delightful for eating. When they are green like the berries in the bottom of the above picture and when they are more translucent and almost purple like the ones on the top.

The green berries are for cooking and need a little sugar. They are fairly tart and quite firm to the touch. Plan on using 1 tbsp of sugar to every 1/2 cup of fruit. Remove the stems and tops with kitchen shears then cook the two down in a saucepan until the berries have softened then use as an accompanying fruit sauce for fish or chicken or put them in your dessert crisp. I love the combination of elderberries and gooseberries.

The real treat (and you are lucky if you find these!) are the “dessert” berries like the ones in the top of the photo. They have ripened to be sweet and are great in all sorts of preparations including the simple fruit salad.

Now hurry out and find some at your local farmer’s market!

12 Comments

Filed under all about, Food, Gardening, Healthy

12 responses to “The Gooseberries taste like… Gooseberries!

  1. Latisha

    What do they taste like?

  2. I love gooseberries! We used to have a gooseberry bush when I was a kid and I would stuff myself with them.

  3. omg, I remember picking them from a bush when I was a little girl in Russia: don’t think I’ve had them since. They sort of taste like a combination of grapes and currants.

  4. Pingback: FoodieTots.com » Summer Sweets: Clafoutis!

  5. Pingback: Currant News « The District Domestic

  6. Olga

    eating them right now although i have to say that the ones in Russia were better and larger.. but these will do. You can get them in Publix or Whole Foods.

  7. Hi. Really solid information on Maqui Berry. I discovered your nice blog while searching google. For the previous few days I’ve been attempting to learn more. Particularly anything to do with the dieting talk. I’ve heard it all and my cousin continues advertising her new weight loss craze on me. So I am happy I found you. All the best!

  8. If you prefer to eat the most nutritious and very delicious berries, I recommend you try Maqui Berries. It is a great source of antioxidant that is very good for the health.

    Ben

  9. sreejith

    what is the chemical reaction of gooseberry with saliva

  10. Michael

    trolololololol

  11. Tony

    Just picked my first crop of gooseberry,omg they are GREAT……

Leave a Reply

