Tip of the Day: Dusting with Cocoa Powder

Next time you make a chocolate cake and don’t want to have to frost it to hide the remnants of white flour that remain on the sides and bottom of cake from dusting the pan, simply dust with cocoa powder.

The chocolate from the cocoa powder won’t harm the flavor of the cake and the need to frost will be gone! Just grease the baking pan as usual and then shake about 1 tbsp of cocoa powder in the pan until it is well-coated!

Happy baking!

7 Comments

Filed under dessert, Food, Tip of the Day

7 responses to “Tip of the Day: Dusting with Cocoa Powder

  1. great tip! You know I always wondered if instead of using flour to dust pans before making a yellow or light colored cake,,could you use powdered sugar???? What is your take on my theory?

  2. I’ve done this before and it’s brilliant.

    Leslie, I think using powdered sugar would make the cake stick.

  3. When I saw the title, I thought you meant dusting as in dusting the furniture. :lol:

  4. DROCK

    When I saw the title, I was thinking on the lines of “honey dust”…with the feather thingy…..

  5. Jill

    I’ve been doing this for years. For a cake that is light in color and not going to be frosted, I use plain old granulated sugar. Really great for sour cream pound cake! :o)

  6. fqgmrh kypnv xbhtkc meanctoug udbaprx kwdreas fxqvnzscj

Leave a Reply

