How to: Homemade Strawberry Jam!

One of my first “jobs” was picking strawberries for a local farmer. My sister and I would get up around 6:30am, go pick a couple of flats of berries and be home (it was just a mile down the street) by 9:30 – just in time for the morning cartoons. We were probably about twelve years old and now I think it was one of the best jobs I ever had! Most of the time more strawberries made it into our mouthes than made it into our gathering baskets. We made just enough money to go into town to the 5&10 store to get an assortment of old-fashioned candies, boondoggle for making more key chains for friends and family than we could ever give away and ten cent bags of popcorn. We then would head over to the bookstore and stock up on our favorite laying in the hammock reads.

Our mom always made pint jars upon pint jars of jam with the berries we brought home and we loved it so much, we couldn’t even wait until she got it in the jars! She would skim the foam off the top of the jam and it would immediately be devoured on saltines by three girls running around the kitchen.

So, yesterday, with my abundance of berries, I gave her recipe a whirl!

My Mom’s Strawberry Jam
makes 8 pint jars

4 pints strawberries
7 cups sugar
1/2 tsp butter
1 pouch Certo, Liquid Fruit Pectin

To prepare fruit, hull the strawberries and place in a large mixing bowl. Using a potato masher (or the back of a large spoon), crush the berries. You want the end result to be small (1/2 inch) pieces of mushy fruit. Measure EXACTLY 4 cups of the fruit into a large stockpot. Add EXACTLY 7 cups of sugar

Stirring constantly, bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Add the butter to reduce the amount of foam (I love the foam so sometimes I leave the butter out). Once the mixture is at a FULL ROLLING BOIL, add the pectin, stirring constantly for EXACTLY one minute.

Remove from heat and skim off any foam. Quickly ladle into jam jars. If not using the jam immediately follow canning procedures to preserve.

In our house, I knew this batch was going to go quick by the time I gave one to a couple of friends so I didn’t can these jars. Without canning, the jam will keep in the fridge for a couple of weeks.

Enjoy!

Pictures of the process…

11 Comments

Filed under Food, How To, Recipes, Vegetarian

11 responses to “How to: Homemade Strawberry Jam!

  1. I just caught the canning bug myself. Your jam looks heavenly!

  2. Nyam,nyam,nyam..so del,i,cio,us. Thank You ;)

  3. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  4. Pingback: les fraises. « we tell ourselves stories…

  5. Rach

    I have used that recipe for jam after my trips to Butler’s for the past 4 years, and it’s fantastic. Last year I went to the reduced sugar recipe, which is 4 cups, and it worked well. This year I decided to try the no sugar. I just opened a jar to taste it…. never again. Very tart, and it doesn’t set well. Waste of delicious berries :-( I am going to attempt to reprocess by reheating and adding sugar….. could be a disaster, but better than trashing the whole batch….

  6. Oh excellent! We just went strawberry picking this weekend and I need a good jam recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  7. I just made some strawberry jam last week for the first time — it’s great how easy it is! I didn’t use any butter in my recipe, but after reading yours, I will try using butter next time.
    http://www.ecojoes.com/simple-easy-homemade-strawberry-jam-recipe/

    Man, also, I haven’t been strawberry picking in a LONG time, but I remember that those were the biggest, freshest strawberries ever.

  8. this looks great, I am definately going to make this a mommy & me project with my kids

  9. Pingback: Tip of the Day: Freezing Strawberries «

  10. Hi. Very nice information on Maqui Berry. I found your nice blog while exploring bing. For the past few days I’ve been attempting to learn more. Particularly anything to do with the dieting talk. I’ve seen it all and my cousin continues pressing her new weight loss fad on me. So I’m glad I discovered you. Bye!

  11. That is a very nice knife if you can get hea Home & Kitchen online store – index 4 Home & Kitchen online
    store – Index 4: 6000. I wanted to come to be successful, but in my feel it begins with clarity.

Leave a Reply

