Worst Foods in America

appetizers_pic08.jpgThe Today Show this morning had an interesting article on the 20 Worst Foods in America – some of which I am sure you could guess, and a few others that were a bit more shocking. Nothing was more shocking to me than the total calorie count of THE worst food in America - Outback Steakhouse’s Aussie Cheese Fries with Ranch Dressing. It weighs in a whopping 2,900 calories, 182 grams of fat and 240 grams of carbs! I totally freaked out when I read this – who in their right mind thought it was appropriate to put something on a menu as an appetizer that has over 3 times a person’s daily requirement for fat!!!

Also, I bet you didn’t think that Chipotle burrito you have for lunch once a week is that bad… Think again. Check out the nutrition facts here or don’t if you want to keep thinking it’s healthy.

An article in USA Today this morning quotes a study done by Charles Stuart Platkin, a nutritional expert who runs http://www.dietdetective.com, which revealed, “it is healthier to eat a McDonald’s Big Mac, fries and a strawberry sundae than to eat most airline dinners.”

With study after study after study about obesity and its effect on our health and healthcare in this country, it is absurd to me that people are still eating these things… Now, don’t get me wrong – I love Chipotle as much as the next person, but it is all about moderation and there is nothing about moderation with the Outback’s Aussie Cheese Fries!

1 Comment

Filed under Food, News, Outside DC, Restaurants

One response to “Worst Foods in America

  1. krystykrywko

    Yikes! I am continually amazed at the stuff that passes for food, both in the supermarket and at restaurants. I know that NYC is working on posting nutritionals on restaurant menus – I don’t know if it will change anyone’s mind – but I think I gained five pounds just reading about the “worst” foods!

Leave a Reply

